Latest Post

Tanner’s 3-run homer in the 8th inning helps the Dragons to a 6-3 win Local artists create chalk murals on sidewalks in downtown Springfield

SOUTH BEND – Search for her 25th Lori Horan leads a field of 16 golfers Monday when the 54-hole South Bend Women’s Metro Open championship begins at Erskine Park.

Horan, who won her first Women’s Metro title in 1979 as a 16-year-old student at South Bend Clay Court, won last year’s tournament with a total of 224 strokes (12 over par), eight strokes better than Selah Unwin and nine ahead of Kathleen Cochrane.

Last year, Unwin started with a round of 75, three strokes ahead of Horan. But Horan followed with a 71 at Elbel Park to reverse the lead against Unwin and finished with a 75 for the championship, her first since 2020.

99. Men’s Metro: Pierce makes a blast in the final round – 66 (four under par) – in the 99th Men’s Metro defeat

Horan and Unwin will be joined by Dominka Burdova in the first threesome on the first hole at Erskine Park on Monday. Cochrane is in the next threesome at 8:10 with Jaiden Winters and Delaney Wade, a four-time sectional champion from Penn High School who will attend Wofford College in the fall. Wade earned All-State honors at the Indiana high school girls championship last September.

This year’s tournament will take place on Tuesday for the second round at Elbel Park and will end on Thursday at Erskine Park.


Tee times for the first round on Monday at Erskine Park Golf Course in the tournament, which continues on Tuesday at Elbel Park Golf Course and ends on Thursday at Erskine Park:

8 a.m.: Dominka Burdova, Lori Horan, Selah Unwin

8:10 a.m.: Jaiden Winters, Kathleen Cochrane, Delaney Wade

8:20: Rachel Thompson, Jill Daniels, Tammy Beiter

8:30: Deb Coombs, Susan Sumrall, Carolyn Niedbalski

8:40: Tamara Finn, Krystle Skelton

8:50: Janet Freda, Debbi Stout